Author Topic: Newbie Need help  (Read 4735 times)

indypctech

Newbie Need help
« on: October 15, 2012, 05:47:33 pm »
hello i want to start of by saying thank you for this wonderful software and for all your hard work

i currently playing with the software one terminal it looks awsome  here is what i want to do

i want to network it on 3 station and 1 server
my server is currently running windows xp
2 terminals running windows xp
1 terminal running windows 7 with automatic cash drawer hook up to pos printer

could someone help me on how to setup this software with what i have

mdl@blueyonder.co.uk

Re: Newbie Need help
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2012, 07:37:33 pm »
Hi, Im new to samba myself but I will be wanting to so the same and network a couple of machines.

Do a search on networks here on the samba forum and have a read through them.

What I have found is that you will need to install sql express on the server and then point the data file to the server on the other machines in your setup.

sql compact is fine for stand alone but no good for sharing over a network.

This post should help a little http://forum2.sambapos.org/index.php/topic,74.msg575.html#msg575

I will be having a play around with it later this week hopefully so I will check back and see if you have had any joy.

Personally I will be sticking to the same os on all machines as I know that networking between say xp and 7 never runs smoothly. Homegroup machines work fine and normally together as do the older xp network sharing.