SambaPOS Forum

English Boards => Support => Topic started by: jenem on January 02, 2012, 02:37:39 am

Title: modifiers
Post by: jenem on January 02, 2012, 02:37:39 am
Would it be possible to keep a count of modifiers?

ie be able to pick four items from list of six items

or one from three.

Would it be possible to prompt server to ask something ie "would you like milk or cream"
or "Would you like a cake with that?"

Title: Re: modifiers
Post by: JohnS on January 02, 2012, 04:32:13 am
Hi Jenem,

For the first part, that will require a coding solution. As present, you can limit the selection to only 1 modifier or up to all modifiers - not a maximum of 4 out of 6.

For the second part, you can do that with modifiers like we have done. We discount the cookies and muffins if purchased with a beverage.
Title: Re: modifiers
Post by: JohnS on January 02, 2012, 04:48:28 am
Or another way to prompt the operator is to set a rule that when coffee is added to a ticket, it triggers an action to show a message.
Title: Re: modifiers
Post by: jenem on January 02, 2012, 08:23:21 am
Thanks John,

How did you set up the ticket prompt?

I'm not sure if ticket means the screen ticket or the printed ticket.

Edgar
Title: Re: modifiers
Post by: JohnS on January 02, 2012, 11:25:52 pm
1. Add a new Action called Cake. Set Action Type to Show Message. Enter what ever you want for the Message. Click Save.
2. Add a new Rule called Cake. Set Event Name to Line Added To Ticket. Set Menu Item Name to Coffee. Set Action to Cake. Click Save.

Thats it. When ever coffee is selected, the prompt will appear - I like using the modifiers to remind staff about up selling as the prompt gets too naggy after a while.

Title: Re: modifiers
Post by: emre on January 03, 2012, 09:58:42 am
We should mention here it is possible to auto activate modifier selection screen for an individual item by enabling "Auto Select" setting on "Edit Product Properties" screen. For example if you enable it for "coffee" when server selects coffee, modifier screen automatically appears and he'll be able to see options for coffee..

What John suggested is the best choice if you want to force servers to ask some questions to customer...
Title: Re: modifiers
Post by: jenem on January 09, 2012, 10:41:06 am
Hi Emre,

I notice in rules you have added modifier selected with some modifier options. I dont think these were there before (I could be wrong!)

Anyway, I notice the modifier options do not pickup the underlying modifier options. Is this correct or part of the ongoing improvments and updates.

How would you use these? could you use them the increment/decrement a count on options chosen?

Edgar
Title: Re: modifiers
Post by: emre on January 09, 2012, 01:04:44 pm
I added it for displaying selected modifiers on customer screen. If you are planing to use is for something else I'll be happy to hear the details.
Title: Re: modifiers
Post by: jenem on January 10, 2012, 01:45:45 am
Hi Emre,

Rule -Set allowed item count

Set allowed item number
Count added items
If Item count > set number
Then set Warning Item count exceeded any extra Items chargeable
If added  items > allowed items count
then extra items charged at set price
Free Items added to ticket
Chargeable Item added to ticket.

Hope logic makes sense.

We would use this in build your own sandwiches or baguttes or paninis.

The same type of rule could be used for pizza toppings
Basic pizza + x number of toppings free
Extra toppings at x Price

If its not possible that's not a issue

 I am more than happy with all the effort you are putting in to develop the software.


Edgar


Title: Re: modifiers
Post by: JohnS on January 10, 2012, 07:53:26 am
Edgar,

I have created the rules based on your example.
Anything over 2 toppings are charged an extra cost by adding an 'Extra Toppings' line item.


Emre,

Problem is that I cannot add more line items while modifying a line item.

Basically, I have an Action set to Add Ticket Item if more than 2 modifiers are selected on any line item. The Rules work as it also has an Action to Show Message as a test.

Is it not adding the additional line item because we are modifying another?
Title: Re: modifiers
Post by: jenem on January 11, 2012, 08:14:26 am
Hi John,

What I am trying to achieve is we have a list of free items but a customer can only pick any combination of a set number of items
I would like to flash a warning to flag up a number greater than set has been picked and to remove an item.

I have tried a few things but dont seem to be able to track count.

Onwards and upwards!!

Edgar
Title: Re: modifiers
Post by: JohnS on January 12, 2012, 01:43:38 am
Edgar,

Doing the counter is easy and the popup message.
At this stage we can not remove just one modifier as you know, either manual or with scripting.

You can set a prompt when a group item is selected, ie Pizzas, and prompt 'you can only pick 4 modifiers', then prompt when 4 have been selected.

Title: Re: modifiers
Post by: jenem on January 12, 2012, 03:34:32 am
Hi John,

Could you give me some pointers on how to set this up please?

I have tried a few things but don't seem to have got anywhere.

Thanks Edgar
Title: Re: modifiers
Post by: JohnS on January 12, 2012, 05:11:28 am
I was going to give you some pointers, and make you work for it :). But it was easier this way.

Set 3 Actions
1. Name - 3 Toppings. Action - Show Message 'Pick 3 toppings'
2. Name - 3 Toppings Used. Action - Show message 'Allowed number of toppings picked'
3. Name - Inc Mod Count. Action - Update Program Settings. Name: FreeMods, Value: 1, Type: Increase, IsLocal: True

Set 4 Rules
1. Name - Reset Mod Count. Event - Line Added to Ticket, Action - Update Program Settings - Name: FreeMods, Value: 0
2. Name - Inc Mod Count. Event - Modifier Selected, Actions - Inc Mod Count
3. Name - Free Mods Msg. Event - Modifier Selected, Setting Check - FreeMods = 1, Actions - 3 Toppings
4. Name - Used Mods Msg. Event - Modifier Selected, Setting Check - FreeMods > 2, Actions - 3 Toppings Used

Logoff & Logon.

Notes
- This will apply to all product modifiers. You can lock this down to an item or modifier group by the conditions in the Rules 2-4.
- It does not stop you adding more modifiers.
- Rule 3 activates on selection of first modifier.
- Rule order is critical as rules execute in the order they are created - top to bottom.

Have fun with this.
Title: Re: modifiers
Post by: jenem on January 12, 2012, 05:35:47 am
Thanks John,

Try Later!

Edgar
Title: Re: modifiers
Post by: jenem on January 12, 2012, 10:31:59 am
Emre,

I don't seem to be able to pick up a modifier group name from the dropdown list on the modifier selected rule. I have a list of modifer group names defined But none show in the modifier selected modifier group name Is this correct?

Edgar
Title: Re: modifiers
Post by: emre on January 12, 2012, 12:19:32 pm
Hello. Some parameters may not have auto complete values. This is not a requirement. You can type it too.

For solving that issue I implemented a new action named "Remove last modifier" for canceling modifiers.
And you'll be able to read total selected quantity in "Modifier Selected" event. So if you cancel last modifier when total quantity > 2 user will not be able to select more than two items.

I thought about adding "Change last modifier price" action but that will make usage harder. Since we increase quantity as user clicks button it will be hard to differ free items and paid items. I think we should create different groups for free modifiers and paid modifiers. User will be able to choose 2 modifiers from "Free modifiers" group and choose rest from "Paid modifiers" group.. That gives some more flexibility because you can have additional choices in "Paid Modifiers" group.

You'll receive them on next update... That was a nice exercise :) Thanks.
Title: Re: modifiers
Post by: jenem on January 12, 2012, 01:37:42 pm
Hi Emre,

Thank you for your hard work.

Would free modifiers have a user defined count

ie this free modifier may have two free items out of choice of x number of items.

that free modifier may have four free items out of x number of items

One thing that may be of note is when reporting items the modifier items appear at the bottom of the report.is therre a way of linking them to the top item ie

Instead of say 10 coffees  4 teas and in the modifier part of the report cream 4, Milk 6 it would be better to report

Coffee 3
Coffee * cream 2
Tea * milk 2
Pizza > pepperoni > onions*Cheese*pineapple 2

Pizza > pepperoni > onions*Cheese 1

Hope it makes sense. It would be better to group modifiers with the upper level item.

It might make reporting a bit clearer. Just a thought!!

Edgar

Title: Re: modifiers
Post by: emre on January 13, 2012, 04:15:49 am
The TotalModifierQuantity constraint will allow you testing the quantity total for the modifier group. So you can call "Remove Last Modifier" aciton if TotalModiferQuanity is greater than a value you configured. You can download 2.81 for testing that.
Thanks...
Title: Re: modifiers
Post by: jenem on January 15, 2012, 02:18:52 am
Hi Emre,
Have tried the modifiers and they are now working brilliantly.
I have set it up so four items are free and if you select a fifth item a warning message pops up and the fifth modifier is removed.
If a customer changes their mind you can easily change a modifier.

Thank you :)
Title: Re: modifiers
Post by: JohnS on January 26, 2012, 03:59:33 am
I have a customer who owns a small cafe. He is interested in SambaPOS, and has raised some scenarios.

He has a 'bible' for the casuals on whats in a meal. He would like to see this on the Kitchen Order, so if he changes a meal, the staff just need to go off the ticket.

For example - a Mixed Grill has
- 2x sausages
- 2x slices bacon
- 2x eggs
- 1x rissole
- 1x lamb chop
- 1x slice toast
- chips

I can do this with modifiers, and automatically select them.
But how do we remove just eggs if the customer does not want them?
Title: Re: modifiers
Post by: emre on January 26, 2012, 04:30:21 am
Well I wrote lots of nonsense and deleted all of them because while writing these I found a simple solution. I don't know why I didn't implemented it before :) I'll add an additional "Remove Modifer" button or change the behavior of current modifier clearing solution. I have to try it now.
Title: Re: modifiers
Post by: JohnS on January 26, 2012, 04:42:46 am
I tried adding items based on the selection of an item (which worked well), but it doesn't give the modifier look, so it just looks messy.

Also, the remove last modifier action seems to remove the last modifier in the list, rather than the last selected modifier.
Title: Re: modifiers
Post by: JohnS on January 26, 2012, 04:49:44 am
Just one thing - while your working your magic, there are two scenarios for updating modifiers

1. Remove the modifier completely - irrespective of its quantity
2. Reduce the modifier quantity by 1

So if you have 2x Eggs selected, you can remove just 1x Egg, without removing 2x Eggs and adding 1x Egg.
Title: Re: modifiers
Post by: jenem on January 26, 2012, 04:58:48 am
Hi John, Emre.

When ever I wanted to remove a modifier. I selected Item, Select the relevant modifier, and this cleared the modifier off the ticket and if I wanted to change a modifier I just selected modifier to change, this cleared it and I could add a different one. the modifier button sems to act like a toggle.

Edgar
Title: Re: modifiers
Post by: JohnS on January 26, 2012, 05:03:54 am
I must be missing something, because I can't get it to behave like that.
Title: Re: modifiers
Post by: jenem on January 26, 2012, 05:49:18 am
Hi John,

Just tried again. Yep the modifiers toggle.

I enclosed a screen shot.

Edgar
Title: Re: modifiers
Post by: emre on January 26, 2012, 06:03:43 am
Modifiers will toggle if "quantity selection" feature is not enabled. When enabled it will increase quantity on each click... If single selection is enabled you can only select one item from a group.

Decreasing quantity feature is another story.. We'll need additional visual controls for increasing / decreasing quantities. I'm trying to keep this screen as simple as possible. With V3 modifiers totally rewritten and renamed as "Order Tags". We'll have more options there..

IMHO, for small changes on quantity (for example from 2 to 1) removing / adding it again will work faster. You'll receive the "Remove Modifier" button on next release. Removing all modifiers from a single group with X button will work too...

Thanks.
Title: Re: modifiers
Post by: JohnS on January 26, 2012, 06:59:28 am
Yep. I was right.

I was missing the obvious !!


Thanks guys.


PS - Nice job on the modifiers Edgar. Looks good.
Title: Re: modifiers
Post by: jenem on January 26, 2012, 08:03:31 am
Hi John,

Its only a demo because there's going to be a change in menu- hence mayonnaise spelling error!

It would be good to be able to colour(color) the separate modifier categories background and text to make them stand better (not that there's anything wrong with them :))

Edgar
Title: Re: modifiers
Post by: JohnS on January 26, 2012, 05:33:25 pm
Emre,

The modifier update works well - really well - Thank you.
Title: Re: modifiers
Post by: JohnS on January 28, 2012, 08:19:53 am
Emre,

I have noticed that with the terminal app, the modifiers don't really work well, and can be unpredictable.

As far as a restaurant goes, I wouldn't use the terminal app. I would prefer to use an iPad due to speed and less training required. But for table service in a bar, I would use an iPod touch with the terminal app.
Title: Re: modifiers
Post by: emre on January 28, 2012, 09:33:00 am
Yes. Quantity selection might not work fine because it won't display quantities. But fixing it easy.
However I don't think terminal app will work fine on iPod Touch. Terminal app specifically optimized for 240x320 resolution and pen input. Some visuals might remain too small for fingers on higher resolutions. I didn't tested it on iPod but whenever possible I'll test and investigate if something can be done for automatically fitting sizes for the screen.
Title: Re: modifiers
Post by: SAMBA USER on February 08, 2012, 02:02:19 am
Hello, everyone.
Got a question.  Let say a customer order a french fry.  There are three sizes that he/she can choose, small,medium,and large.  How do we go about setting it to modify the order.

Thanks! :-\
Title: Re: modifiers
Post by: jenem on February 08, 2012, 02:55:22 am
Look at Screenshot

Edgar
Title: Re: modifiers
Post by: SAMBA USER on February 09, 2012, 06:55:28 pm
Thanks jenem that works great! :)
Title: Re: modifiers
Post by: CafeCuppio on March 23, 2012, 12:45:12 am
Ons the subject of modifiers, how do you make a modifier mandatory?

thanks
Title: Re: modifiers
Post by: jenem on March 23, 2012, 01:07:54 am
We should mention here it is possible to auto activate modifier selection screen for an individual item by enabling "Auto Select" setting on "Edit Product Properties" screen. For example if you enable it for "coffee" when server selects coffee, modifier screen automatically appears and he'll be able to see options for coffee..

What John suggested is the best choice if you want to force servers to ask some questions to customer...

Hope this helps!!

Edgar
Title: Re: modifiers
Post by: CafeCuppio on March 23, 2012, 01:12:34 am
Hi Edgar,

Thanks, Auto Select is enabled, but you can still close the modifier screen without selecting a modifier, I need a modifier selected before the modifier screen can be closed.

Title: Re: modifiers
Post by: jenem on March 23, 2012, 01:39:15 am
Sorry, I understand now !!

not sure if its possible.

What happens if the customer changes mind while on the modifier screen? (It does happen!!) You would still need to close screen.

You would need a cancel option

Edgar
Title: Re: modifiers
Post by: CafeCuppio on March 23, 2012, 02:08:05 am
What happens if the customer changes mind while on the modifier screen? (It does happen!!) You would still need to close screen.

Then you can just select any modifier and then just cancel the item from the ticket.
Title: Re: modifiers
Post by: jenem on March 23, 2012, 02:23:26 am
Sorry, its been a while since I played around with Sambapos :)
Title: Re: modifiers
Post by: CafeCuppio on March 23, 2012, 02:26:21 am
no worries, thanks for trying to help ;)
Title: Re: modifiers
Post by: emre on March 23, 2012, 03:01:16 am
Hmm.. You can't make modifier selection mandatory..
But you can set a default modifier for a menu button.

Navigate to Menu List > [Your Menu] > Choose a Category > Click Edit Product Properties
You'll see a column named "Default Properties". If you enter a modifier name here (or multiple modifier names separated with comma) that modifier(s) will selected by default.

I hope that helps.
Title: Re: modifiers
Post by: CafeCuppio on March 23, 2012, 03:18:49 am
Thanks Emre, default modifier will not eliminate my problem, I will just have to be very firm with my cashiers entering the order to avoid the kitchen coming back asking if the streak must me well-done or the sunny side up ;)
Title: Re: modifiers
Post by: emre on March 23, 2012, 03:34:48 am
Thanks Emre, default modifier will not eliminate my problem, I will just have to be very firm with my cashiers entering the order to avoid the kitchen coming back asking if the streak must me well-done or the sunny side up ;)

I see. On next releases I can implement something for that.
Thanks.
Title: Re: modifiers
Post by: jenem on March 23, 2012, 04:16:22 am
Cafecuppio,

Could you not have a message prompt to say you must select modifier? smiler to a message prompt I use to say you "modifier selection total selected".

just a thought as a workaround

Edgar
Title: Re: modifiers
Post by: CafeCuppio on March 23, 2012, 04:34:02 am
I will give that a shot, thanks Edgar